Aarushi Garg
6 min readJul 14, 2020

If Winter comes, can Spring be far behind?

9th March — the day our school announced that exams were going to be brought forward by ten days. I clearly recollect the moment when my mom shouted out my name, an indication for me to go to her. Her voice sounded different, a little frustrated, displeased. Putting my business studies preparation on a hold for a few minutes, I went to her. Without saying a word, she handed me her phone, a glum look on her face. I stood rooted to the spot, staring with eyes wide open at the message in front of me. I assumed my parents were tricking me, that they were playing some ghastly prank. Dubious and hesitant, I kept a weather eye on them, looking for some sign of contriteness on their face, but there was none. They were as intransigent and inculpable as ever. Appalled and flustered, I rang up a few of my friends. None of them answered my call. Reluctantly, I sulked my way to the bedroom and got back to studying, but I was not able to concentrate. ‘This can’t be true! It’s a lie! This isn’t fair’, I thought.

Just then, my phone rang. It was my friend. I discussed the situation with her and she claimed that she, too, had received the same message and assured me that it was not a hoax. I felt my last vestige of hope get shattered and crushed. After talking to her, though, I felt more at ease and realized that my classmates shared the same astonishment and bewilderment as I did. I was not the only one for whom exams had been brought forward.

Two days before our first exam, the 11th of March, I decided to go to school and get all my questions clarified. It was nice to meet my friends and exchange empathy. On the 12th of March, which was just one day before the exam, I was convinced that it would be a better idea to stay at home and use my time to study and do all the last-minute revision. The same evening, I went to my friend’s house who lives in the apartment just adjacent to mine. She is in the same grade as me but in a different school. We had planned to meet as we believed we could help each other and exchange a few notes, etc. She, too, suffered the same fate as me, for her exams had also been brought forward.

As we were quizzing each other my phone vibrated. The screen read ‘Mommy’. Without thought, I answered it and my mom informed me that our school had indefinitely deferred exams. I evidently recall the relief that flooded through me, the joy, as if I had received the greatest treasure in the world or as though I had won the biggest lottery — I am not sure which. I leapt out of joy but my dear friend next to me whined and complained, for it seemed her exams were on. Cheerfully and gleefully, I went back home and called my school friends. We discussed how happy we were.

However, I was so occupied rejoicing that I had not realized that the summer break had started! While some may relish the fact that summer vacation had begun, I felt a little dejected as I had not gotten a chance to say goodbye to any of my friends properly. Not only that, my plan of drenching my friends remained incomplete. Just like my exams, my plans had also been put off.

However, soon, that dejection turned into delight. The month of April, during which we were in lockdown, went by surprisingly quickly even though school was not on. Throughout the month, my brother and I helped our parents by undertaking some of the household chores.

In May my school announced that online classes would be starting soon. I thought ‘Ha! Online School!? That’s crazy!!’ Like all conventionalists, I had formed an opinion that online school would not work out. But I am happy to be proven wrong — we have successfully been having online classes for over 2 months now. Things have been going on flawlessly. Of course, initially, I faced a few challenges and took some time getting adjusted to the new academic system. But within two weeks, I was extremely comfortable with the setting.

But one challenge that I still face is keeping my phone away and not texting friends during class. There are several solutions though — mute your notifications, put your phone on silent mode, disable notifications. But ultimately it is up to the learner. Teachers can remind students but it entirely depends on the student’s attitude. It is important that students remind themselves that integrity is what matters.

During this journey, I understood and learnt several lessons. After all, “In times of adversity and change, we really discover who we are and what we’re made of.

  1. Attitude is a little thing that makes a big difference: Even before online classes started I believed that they would be ineffective. But in the end, they did work out! Having a positive attitude and accepting change is indispensable.

2. Self-discipline: It is not only about discerning what is right and wrong for you. What really matters is whether you are able to make decisions based on that and implement them. For instance, I knew using social media during classes was wrong, but even then I continued to do so.

3. No work is small: During the lockdown, I learnt that each task is equally important. Though some jobs may require more skill than others, we must not disregard any task. It is imperative to express gratitude to all those workers who come to our house every day. They come, do their job, and go, and we do not even notice or acknowledge their presence.

When I was performing simple chores like brooming the house and dusting the furniture, I became aware of how much effort it takes. It becomes tedious and cumbersome to do the same task repeatedly. A shout-out to all those people, especially the wage-earners, who render support and services to us each day. We should also express immense appreciation to our parents, who look after us throughout and make sure that we are as happy as ever.

4. Friends are a blessing: Who knew life without them would be so mundane! Before this lockdown never did I realize what an important role they play in my life. I do call them up and text them, but being with them in person is totally different. I truly hope to be with them very very soon.

I will cherish the learnings and moments that this time has offered and continues to offer. I am extremely grateful for the state I am in and always wish well for others. During such unprecedented times, it is more crucial than ever that we foster an environment of positivity and happiness. It is imperative to support each other and create a culture of togetherness. A small note of optimism: “No winter lasts forever. No spring skips its turn.”Be safe and healthy!